the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:45am on 12/01/2008
I wouls like to know what exactly I have done to offend the gods this week.

Woke up this morning with my left eye all crusty. I looked at it in the mirror and it was red in the corner with redness stretching around the eyeball. It's a little bit - well, more sensitive than sore; it doesn't hurt but I can definitely feel something's different from my right eye. My immediate thought was pinkeye/conjunctivitis. I've never had it before, but I googled it and it might have something to do with this cold I've had since Christmas. Or? Maybe I caught it from Vanessa when we had dinner the night before I left, since she'd had it twice in the previous few weeks. We didn't make out or anything, but we did hug and share a Cinnabon.

But wait! I'm not finished. You see, I forgot several important things before I left home, including an extra set of sheets, a prescription and...my glasses. My parents sent me the package on Monday, and it won't get here until sometime between noon Monday and Thursday. Now you're not supposed to wear contacts with an eye infection, obviously; and my eyesight is so abysmally bad that I am typing this with the screen four inches from my eyes.

I have a 3500-4000 word paper due Tuesday. For which I haven't yet written a single word.

Of course, of course, the uni health service where I'm registered isn't open on weekends. Mehvash, being the wonderful friend she is, found a chemist in Portswood who gives free consultations, but even then, if it's the diagnosis I"m expecting they won't actually be able to do anything. So I'll be blind until Monday afternoon at the very latest.

In addition to the paper, I have a presentation to give Tuesday morning (which is fine as long as my glasses come on Monday), a GIS practical on Wednesday, and the first part of our NAS training course on Thursday. Which has a pool component. Seeing isn't a problem because my mask has prescription lenses, but if I can't go because of risk of contagion or whatever, I'm out 50 pounds. And I probably won't retake the course, because if I do it on my own it'll cost me an addition 100, minimum.

The computer problems have taken a back seat to this, even. I'm going to do a Safe Mode start and virus scan while I leave, which will probably take forever it it works, which means I'll have nothing to do for the rest of the day but read (awkwardly) or sleep. No music. No TV. No movies. No paper-writing, of course, and I suppose I'll force out an email to Jon and Fraser later begging for a week's extension. I could do it by Friday, except for the practical on Monday and NAS on Thursday - IF I can do to that.

I haven't sacrificed any virgins lately. I haven't stood on a mountaintop during a storm screaming ab out my infallibility.

WHAT DID I DO?

ETA: Pinkeye confirmed. Weak over-the-counter eyedrops administered. Professors emailed. Scan running. Going to bed for to nap and curse world.

ETA2: Good news for once! Fraser says I can fill out a self-certification form for a medical reason and get up to five days' extension. I'll call the postgrad office on Monday to check (I still think it's bloody stupid to turn my assignments into a departmental office instead of my professors who grade it, but whatever). Is it any wonder that I'm in love with his Jack Davenport-doppleganging self?

So I don't have to worry about the paper. Now I'm just bored. I can type this stuff for about five minutes of squinting without troule, but I I have to scvroll too much to read the extra-large flist in Safe Mode. It is the suck.
There are 7 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] delurker.livejournal.com at 11:58am on 12/01/2008
The universe really has it in for you. :(
*HUGS*
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (626icons - jon)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 10:12am on 13/01/2008
It would seem that way. Thanks, hon.
lj_stowaway: (Hugs)
posted by [personal profile] lj_stowaway at 04:20pm on 12/01/2008
Oh, honey. You poor thing. {{{hugs}}} *makes you tea*
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (wapiti_baris - keeper of the code)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 10:12am on 13/01/2008
Awww, thanks :)
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (laughtur - jim)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 10:13am on 13/01/2008
Can't get any worse, eh? Thanks, hon.
 
posted by [identity profile] tiggothy.livejournal.com at 10:32am on 13/01/2008
*hugs*
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 10:19am on 16/01/2008
Made of equal parts suck and fail! Heh, glad the forum went better than last time - I'll pass message along to Jon next time I see him.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31