the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:41pm on 03/02/2004
Am bored and sleepy.

Though not so hopelessly bored as I was this weekend. And I'm thankfully past that weird feeling where I wanted to do bodily harm to my roomie for no good reason.

Honestly, all weekend long, EVERYTHING Vanessa did bothered me. I dunno why. I'm better now. But I still feel kinda icky about it.

I also feel kinda icky aboutreally enjoying seeing Veronica kicking and screaming, 17 stories in the air, while Julie tried to kill her, last night. Yeah, it's mean, but hey, she didn't fall! Therefore I can say it was truly awesome TV.

While we're on the subject of TV, "Gilmore Girls" tonight: I really wasn't paying much attention to this ep. Last week was so incredible and this one, despite the early appearance of Lane, left me cold. Loved Lorelai's little kissy faces at Kirk. Loved Rory finally confronting Paris about old!Michael!York. But the rest of it? Meh. I have absolutely no interest in Liz, and whatever interest I had in Jess by the end of his tenure -- and believe me, it wasn't much -- is totally washed away. So sad, because I found Milo really sexy on those few "Boston Public" episodes last fall. What they did to Jess as a character was just inexcusable.

I really, really should read Heart of Darkness. Heh, I think I posted the exact same thing last week. I'll probably skim/speed read the rest of it tomorrow. Conrad bores me pretty badly, and it doesn't look like he'll pull a Billy Budd and turn out really excellent despite the dense language.

Oh yeah, and I'm some chapters behind in Polysci, but it's just review of stuff we've learned several times over. Shays Rebellion, Constitutional Convention, Great Compromise, Marbury v. Madison, checks and balances, the national bank, Federalists, etc, etc.

Kerry's taken a bunch more states. Really, is anybody surprised at this point? Had a semi-virulent political discussion with the mother over the phone. Well, not really -- it's just that she's so willing to lap up whatever the media and the talking heads say, regarding the Dems or Bush or whomever. I felt compelled to defend Dean and smack down Lieberman, who's dropped out anyway so the point is moot. Al Sharpton got 9% in S.C.? WTF? Also surprised to see Clark doing fairly well. I think people are starting to warm up to him, but I have serious doubts that anyone's going to catch up to Kerry now, barring any serious mishaps.

Of course, I also (mostly) believe that Bush is going to get re-elected, and that he might survive any serious mishaps (*coughTHEWHOLEDAMNECONOMYcough*). Seriously, nasty little fucker's like a cockroach, nothing can kill him -- though god knows we're gonna keep trying.

Heh, Daddy actually called him "Reagan" on the phone tonight.

Me: Dad, you mean Bush?
Dad: What'd I say?
Me: Reagan. I was confused.
Dad: Oh. Well, they're kind of the same.
Me: Yeah.
Dad: Except I think Reagan was just senile, and I think Bush is actually evil.
Me: OH yeah.

Our primaries are March 2nd -- must see about absentee ballots when I go home this weekend.

Home.

Hommmmme.

It can't be only Tuesday.
Mood:: 'bored' bored
Music:: "paper cup," heather nova
There are 2 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] jennimarie.livejournal.com at 05:02am on 04/02/2004
My freshman year two of the girls in my suite were fundamentalist southern Baptists, and while they were sweet it was difficult to live with them. It becomes one of those things where, if I wasn't living with them it wouldn't have been a problem. However, day in and day out having to watch everything I said so as to not piss them off gets tough. So I feel you on the difficult roommate situation.

Did you see the poll they did last week after New Hampshire that showed that only 42% of people who voted for Kerry did so because they believed in his platform, and around 70% of those that voted for Dean believed in his politics. Was very interesting to me.

I'm just mad because I live in Florida and by the time my primary rolls around everything is pretty much decided.

Also you can get Ultraviolet at Amazon.com. I wasn't able to find it anywhere else.

I'll stop comment spamming your journal now :)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)

Re:

posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 03:24pm on 04/02/2004
Thanks for sympathizing :) I like my roommate, I really do -- but like you said, it's really difficult to muzzle myself, especially because I've never bothered to do it before. Anything to keep the peace, though.

Didn't see that poll, but yeah, I think people are voting for Kerry because they think he's most likely to beat Bush and not out of any personal preference. How exactly the bandwagon was started, I have no idea, but clearly Democrats across the country are jumping on it. I want to vote NOW, dammit! I've waited a long time for this and this is definitely a year when the right needs to be exercised.

Oooh, how I love Amazon. I ran through all of the reviews and got more and more excited. I think it will have to be a Valentine's Day present from myself to...myself.

By all means, spam away :) Heaven knows I've got the time.

Heh, your icon reminds me of a conversation from Spanish last semester. We were talking about someSouthAmericandictatorshiporother, and my professor was explaining how different it is to have a career military officer as a nation's leader. He asked us if, for example, we would support Colin Powell for president, since he would definitely qualify as a career militaryman. And nobody answered for a little while, and I raised my hand and said "Yes." And José, my professor, goes, "Really?" I said, "Honestly, anybody's better than Bush at this point." And most of the class started to nod :)

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31