The scan yesterday did no good. It ran in Safe Mode and I managed to delete two files it said were corrupted, but when it was finished it gave me an error message when I tried to open the Virus Chest. The laptop is as sick as ever, in fact it's worse: now it's deleted all my Firefox settings, including my bookmarks. I'm afraid that any removable media I connect will be attacked by the virus, as I now seriously suspect that's what happened to my iPod. A question for those savvier than I: can I safely transfer my files off the laptop in Safe Mode? I think that I can, but - it's just one fucking thing after another with me, you know?. This is in preparation for wiping the hard drive, if all else fails.
I can't take it into town for service (if there IS a place), because I'm blind and everyone I know is working on their papers so I couldn't ask them to come with me to help. I've gotten no response from the uni tech team, but even if I get in touch with them tomorrow I'll have the doctor's appointment and paper to worry about - and I'll STILL be blind if my glasses don't come.I do not have time right now to worry about my shit-ass computer eating files.
The eye is the same. At lest the other one's not infected yet. I slept for nearly 11 hours last night. I'm going to try to run the virus scan again - I think maybe the sensitivity wasn't turned up all the way. I don't know. At least it'll give me something to do.
MADE OF FAIL.
I can't take it into town for service (if there IS a place), because I'm blind and everyone I know is working on their papers so I couldn't ask them to come with me to help. I've gotten no response from the uni tech team, but even if I get in touch with them tomorrow I'll have the doctor's appointment and paper to worry about - and I'll STILL be blind if my glasses don't come.I do not have time right now to worry about my shit-ass computer eating files.
The eye is the same. At lest the other one's not infected yet. I slept for nearly 11 hours last night. I'm going to try to run the virus scan again - I think maybe the sensitivity wasn't turned up all the way. I don't know. At least it'll give me something to do.
MADE OF FAIL.
(no subject)
If it will still let you transfer files to an external device, then don't hesitate to try. But until you know what sort of nasty you are dealing with, it would be best transfer onto a few different devices if this is possible. Don't transfer any files that were created within, say, 2 weeks of your laptop meltdown. If you need them desperately, then save them separately to a device that you are willing to sacrifice.
You should be relatively safe transferring documents you have created yourself (such as Word files, spreadsheets, etc), so save these separately. Don't transfer any documents with embedded macro's or other sorts files, or Word *.dot files. Audio and picture files are easier to infect, so again save these separately. Any other sort of files are pretty risky so it's up to you if you want to transfer them but definitely keep them separate if you do.
I hope this helps. Good luck.
(no subject)
(no subject)
Have you tried System Restore? Go a few points back. It won't delete your important files. Last week my computer basically went bug-fuck crazy and deleted my Mozilla Firefox bookmarks and gave me error messages like whoa, but I System Restored and it's perfectly fine now.
I can't remember if ou used Ad-Aware SE, either; you could try that.
I hope you get better and everything gets fixed.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Good luck D:
(no subject)
(no subject)
I've been through a lot of hell with my past laptops (hell, you probably read all of the trouble I've had with the new laptop) and I completely understand where you are coming from.
It really all depends on what virus/worm you have if you can safely transfer anything. Which is very unfortunate.
If I could get my old Sony working better, I would send it to you, but that's pretty much a shot in the dark.
Until then, smile at my icon. It will at least bring a grin (as long as you're close enough to the screen. Pink eye sucks!)
(no subject)
(no subject)