the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 03:53am on 04/02/2008
That was a fucking awesome Super Bowl. The first three quarters were all defense, all the time, and thus kind of boring and painful to watch (which Chris was happy to point out, every few minutes, but I don't care because rugby is a total mess and football has STRUCTURE). But then, the last quarter - holy hell, that was tense. Eli Manning's wriggle away from doom was a beautiful thing. I wasn't really rooting for either time, though I would have liked to see the Pats hit the record - but the Giants deserved that game. They wanted it more, and they got it.

Kelley and I felt the lack of commercials keenly. Like, not just the usual neato Super Bowl commercials, but ANY COMMERCIALS AT ALL. During the breaks all they could do was cut back to teh dumb commentators, one of whom was British and had far too much product in his hair. I hope there are some on Youtube. On a positive note, Tom Petty rocked the damn house. Chris and James did not know who he was, and I was aghast. 'Free Fallin' brings people out of comas! I know this because of the late, great Pop-Up Video.

Okay, so, but then I made the severe mistake of forgetting I'm not in St. Mary's anymore, and walking home. Alone. At 3:30 in the morning. I should have just stayed at Kelley's, but I did that Saturday night after we watched the rugby match and got rather drunk; I wanted to sleep in my own bed tonight. Still, it was incredibly dumb and I panicked myself into a froth all the way home. Right around the corner from the Shell station I passed a group of teenage boys, maybe half a dozen. They weren't doing anything but hanging around, but you kind of question the motivation of any group of people out at that hour, no? I looked straight ahead and walked past them, and obviously they weren't the vicious gang I imagined because they didn't even notice me. BUT, still stupid, stupid, stupid. Next time I will stay over or call a cab.

Now that I'm safely back, I'm just waiting for my room to cool off, having forgotten to turn off the radiator before I left. It's all stuffy ::wrinkles nose:: And then to bed.

Just really happy I got to watch the Super Bowl. Even if I was the only one to make it all the way through, it was totally worth it.
Mood:: 'anxious' anxious
There are 4 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] captsparrow4evr.livejournal.com at 04:23am on 04/02/2008
Yeah, go Giants!! Okay, so I was really only rooting for them because they were the underdogs but I am glad they won. According to the broadcast, there should be a myspace page for the ads, something like www.myspace.com/superbowlads but don't quote me on that.
 
posted by [identity profile] tiggothy.livejournal.com at 06:42am on 04/02/2008
Dammit! Knew it would get interesting as soon as I went to bed! But then, I'm stuggling to function as it is... I have to be driving to work in 1/2 hour...
 
posted by [identity profile] erinya.livejournal.com at 05:15pm on 04/02/2008
It was a pretty awesome game. We were rooting for the underdogs, so it was great fun to watch them fight back at the last minute.
 
posted by [identity profile] cymbeline.livejournal.com at 06:16pm on 04/02/2008
Tom Petty was awesome!!! Best Halftime show I've seen in a long time. We joined in with the silly cell phone waving in hubby's aunt's living room. lol

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31