posted by
the_dala at 12:12am on 19/04/2008
Does anyone else get really upset when characters in movies chuck their cell phones away to make some sort of point?
For instance, in 'The Devil Wears Prada' when Andie throws her phone into the fountain in Paris - it seriously bothered more than everybody calling Anne Hathaway fat. I understand what they were TRYING to do, but I'm still like 'WTF is wrong with you, child?' No matter how good the movie, how well-written the script, how satisfying the scene - wanton destruction of perfectly good cell phones that probably have the names and numbers of everyone the character knows (and calenders and old texts from lovers and music and personalized ring tones) is the one consistent plot device for which I cannot suspend my disbelief.
Of course, I also get the vapors when musicians destroy their instruments (yes, even Jimi Hendrix); from women who have photographs taken of themselves splashing around in water or mud or sand in their wedding dresses; and all the YouTube videos of people taking apart iPhones when they first came out.
I find it all varying degrees of horrifying. I can't be the only one with this disproportionate emotional response. Eh?
For instance, in 'The Devil Wears Prada' when Andie throws her phone into the fountain in Paris - it seriously bothered more than everybody calling Anne Hathaway fat. I understand what they were TRYING to do, but I'm still like 'WTF is wrong with you, child?' No matter how good the movie, how well-written the script, how satisfying the scene - wanton destruction of perfectly good cell phones that probably have the names and numbers of everyone the character knows (and calenders and old texts from lovers and music and personalized ring tones) is the one consistent plot device for which I cannot suspend my disbelief.
Of course, I also get the vapors when musicians destroy their instruments (yes, even Jimi Hendrix); from women who have photographs taken of themselves splashing around in water or mud or sand in their wedding dresses; and all the YouTube videos of people taking apart iPhones when they first came out.
I find it all varying degrees of horrifying. I can't be the only one with this disproportionate emotional response. Eh?
(no subject)
I actually shriek at the television. Every time. "IT MEANS IT'S OUT OF PAPER, YOU GODDAMN STUPID MORON!"
Maybe not quite the same thing, but...yeah. The cell phone thing bugs me, too.
(no subject)
Just ONCE don't you want to see the gun actually hit the bad guy and knock him out so the hero gets away?
Tangent, yeah, okay, sorry. Pet peeve of my own.
(I do cringe at the cell phone thing.)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Exactly! It also annoys me from a littering perspective.
It's such a childish move, too. Seriously, just turn the damn thing off if you want to make a point.
(no subject)
(no subject)
heh, i remember when V For Vendetta came out, i was blown away by natalie portman's acting during the prison/torture scenes, but all anyone could ask her about during interviews was: SO WAS IT HARD TO CUT OFF ALL YOUR HAIR???
its just HAIR, people!! jeeze!!!
uhm, yeah. pet peeve there :D
(no subject)
I like my cell phone, but I mostly use it to make outgoing calls, and I don't tie my identity to it.
(no subject)
I have a perfectly good novel that I had to shelve, because how can my heroine torture herself with thoughts of what he's doing without her-- when all she has to do is flip open her cell phone and ask?
Hugh Grant made a movie that ignored the technology of the times. That is exactly what turned it into a stinker. She's worried that her fetus might see the head of his penis when they fuck. C'mon, you stupid bitch, that's what google is for!
He simply cannot get to the delivery room in time. Pull the phone out of your pocket, asshole!
But the wedding dresses, man, I'm all about muddying them up! Umm... maybe because mudfucking is a kink of mine...