the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
Was feeling very PMS-y and in need of serious chocolate today, so I journeyed into the city centre to find some. First I tried a milkshake with fudge brownie and Malteasers from Shakaway, but it was severely disappointing. I love the concept of the place, but it fails in execution. People, you do not blend a milkshake until it is the actual consistence of MILK. Then it just becomes milk with stuff in it, and that is gross. Next time I will just have to look like kind of an asshole and ask them to only blend it a little.

So I continued on to the real hardcore crack at Hotel Chocolat. I was just going to get a pack of the caramel batons, but apparently...they are having a sale (which I can only imagine happens semi-regularly). Everything in the shop with an upcoming expiration date was half-price. I am susceptible to sales in the first place, but GOURMET CHOCOLATES on sale? I never had a chance. I picked up the new caramel and honey batons (which are delicious, but not as good as the plain caramel - just a tad too sweet. But honey seems to be one of the flavours of the season); a small pack of Crocodile Cheers (which were a guest recipe - 'a mild tangerine ganache in a glossy milk shell.' The tangerine is actually too mild, I should have gone with the mango truffles); and my prize item, a largeish and glorious box of Exuberantly Fruity. So far I have had the Blueberry Bombe, Peach & Raspberry Truffle, and the Baltic Truffle which was the best - redcurrent ganache and white chocolate ganache in a white chocolate shell. I'm really looking forward to the Drunken Raspberry and the Strawberry & Black Pepper chocolate. Oh, and since I was already pulling out my cheque card for chocolate I also bought a shot of the Aztec Chili drinking chocolate. Man, that stuff is intense. The chili taste is pretty subtle and yet it made me start to sweat. Too bitter for my tastes, but I'm glad I tried it.

Now I'm drooling over the catalogue. Is it wrong that I reeeeally want the crazy expensive but 'highly exciting' Collection of the Season box? I mean, who even knew chocolate had a season? I do have to try one of the Purist Bars at some point.

Man, this place has spoiled me for all other chocolate. At least they have a Boston warehouse now so I can actually order them at home without paying a fortune in shipping. Actually, I'm going to go look at the website now to see if there are any differences ::is a dork::

And for dinner, I will have a cheeseburger from the burger guy. And then my cramps will go away, and I can finish 'Keeping Faith' and be happy.
Mood:: 'groggy' groggy
There are 8 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
ext_7904: (POTC-james-lick)
posted by [identity profile] porridgebird.livejournal.com at 05:16pm on 20/05/2008
Oh my lord... *tummyrumble*
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (koenta - playful jack dav)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 09:58am on 21/05/2008
I'm sorry, I know you said something but all I can do is STARE AT YOUR ICON ::mesmerized::
 
posted by [identity profile] yoiebear.livejournal.com at 05:36pm on 20/05/2008
I'm very jealous of the chocolate...
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (marisk8 - petrelli brothers)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 09:59am on 21/05/2008
I'm sorry you've been having such a crap time, btw ::sends virtual chocolate and hugs::
 
posted by [identity profile] yoiebear.livejournal.com at 11:50am on 21/05/2008
Thanks.
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 05:55pm on 20/05/2008
Next time I will just have to look like kind of an asshole and ask them to only blend it a little.

Translation:
"I'm an AMERICAN, dammit. We like to CHEW our dairy products!"
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (harshday - naked!jeff)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 09:59am on 21/05/2008
Damn straight!
 
posted by [identity profile] berne.livejournal.com at 06:41pm on 21/05/2008
Mmm, Hotel Chocolat. My flatmates keep buying loads of stuff from the Cambridge branch. It's all been sitting around the flat for WEEKS, untouched. I don't understand it. I'm starting to get a bit twitchy, just seeing it sitting around uneaten.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31