the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 11:56am on 12/09/2008
Adopt one today! Adopt one today!

Adopt one today!

The good: I has a job! For the next month, at least.

Hokay, so: last month I signed up with a temp agency after a few failed attempts at finding low-key, part-time jobs to go along with thesis-writing. The first job I got through them was with the county government, working with a program for at-risk and developmentally delayed infants and toddlers. I filled in for their receptionist for four days while she was on vacation. The six women in the office really liked me, so much so that three of them asked if I'd be willing to work full-time. This was several weeks ago so I said I couldn't commit to full-time quite yet, but I would definitely be interested. At the time it wasn't entirely clear what exactly they wanted me to do - if they were, like, going to fire the girl I was filling in for or what - but they were supposed to call me. To my great distress, three weeks passed with no word. I called a couple of times and left messages for the director, but no one called me back. I've never worked for a temp agency before, so I was a bit confused over the procedure - whether I should be going through them or what. Anyway, point is, I gave up waiting and was pretty grumpy over the whole thing.

Then today, the temp office calls me and said they've asked for me for the next month. Woot! So I start on Tuesday. And again, I don't really know how this works - if they really only need me for a month or if it's a sort of month-long period where I go through Kelly Services instead of being hired directly by the county. I should've asked, but I was too excited. If any of you guys have insight, please share!

Aside from YAY JOB, I'm feeling pretty excited about this particular job. I really liked everyone in the office, and the fact that I'd be doing something pretty meaningful. Mostly my duties consisted of dealing with mail/invoices and answering the phones - I took down basic info from families who want their children evaluated. It was right before they were set to have a conference, so I helped with name tags and stuff ([livejournal.com profile] artaxastra might be amused to know that it gave me flashbacks). Plus, the location can't be beat. I don't know when Rville got so cool, but I appreciate it. The office building is right across the street from the movie theater complex (which used to be the only cool thing in that part of town - AND you had to pay for parking), which now boasts a pizza place, Potbellys, California Tortilla and Ben & Jerry's - plus this is a Cosi a bit further down the street ::salivates:: Obviously, lunch will never be a problem. I loved working in DC, but the travel time really sucked - this is so much better. It's also right next to the Metro station and about five minutes from my mother's office, so she shouldn't grumble too much about having to drive me until oh my GOD they get a new car and I can have my Cheese back. The bloody car is seriously the cause of most of the strife in our house right now. Of course they can get its brakework done first. And fix the massive crack in the windshield that MY DAD got on the highway two years ago when I wasn't even in the country.

So I'm set for at least a good thirty days. I can look for work in my field while stashing away a steady paycheck every week. American Student Assistance called yesterday and for some reason think that my undergraduate loans (about 40% of my loan total) are subject to in-school deferment until May 2010. ...Does it make me a bad person that I didn't correct them? I don't have any idea HOW they got that date, and obviously I don't want them to start racking up major interest, but I'm perfectly okay with sitting on them for a few months while I get my shit together.

The Bad: I don't do this often, but I'm asking for good thoughts/vibes for my Uncle Bob. He lives in Galveston and Hurricane Ike is set to blow right through there later today. They say it's gonna be bad. I'm ashamed to admit that the whole situation sort of just caught up to my mother and me - she's calling him from work right now. We don't know if he's evacuated or not. I hope so, because his health is not good - and if that is the case I hope the evacuation isn't stressing him out. God, it is kind of awful that we don't know this.

Anyway, good luck and love to my uncle and to those of you who live in the area or have family in the area ::hugs::

The Ugly: my thesis. I don't want to talk about it. All I want to do is come on here and post that it's finished and edited and printed and bound and in the mail, and I can't do that any of those things yet.


ETA: OH MY GOD THERE IS A FRACTURED PRUNE IN RVILLE. For those of you not blessed to live in a handful of MD zip codes, The Fractured Prune makes the best donuts in existence. They are plain, then dipped in one of many glazes, then covered with some of many toppings. It is sort of like Fractured Prune:donuts::Coldstone:ice cream. Except it is ten thousand times more delicious than Coldstone. You think I'm overusing hyperbole in this ETA, but that's because you've never had one. MD peeps, a. back me up or b. come over so we can go get one.

ETA2: My uncle is at a hotel in Houston. Whew.
Mood:: 'relieved' relieved
Music:: 'realize,' colbie cailet
There are 11 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (indigohymn - queen elizabeth)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 01:42pm on 14/09/2008
OMG it would help a LOT. Can I email you the draft when it's finished?
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (queenmab_223 - flaming june)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 01:42pm on 14/09/2008
Thanks, Lin ::huggles:: As far as I know he's doing okay in Houston now.
lj_stowaway: (Autumn)
posted by [personal profile] lj_stowaway at 04:50pm on 12/09/2008
YAY JOB!

Re the temp assignment. I've temped for the last 20 years or so. If the temp office called you then you go to the temp office with all questions and the county deals with them. The temp office can tell you the length of the current assignment (bear in mind that the dates they give you may be fluid, based on what the county is telling them and based on what the county wants). If you feel comfortable discussing this stuff with the county, then go ahead, but be aware that all *official* communications will flow through your agency.

If the county decides to offer you the position permanently - that is, they want to hire you - they negotiate that with the agency, although most place will keep you in the loop.

Every temp company I've worked for insists that if, for example, you won't be in to work that day due to illness or whatever, that you call the agency and NOT the client company where you are placed. However, once you have a rapport with the client company (i.e. the county) and have built up a good reputation with your agency, it is possible to skip that step and deal with the client directly. This is especially true for longer assignments (several weeks or more) where you tend to become part of the family at the client.

I could go on and on... *g* Email me if you want.

And my fingers are crossed for everyone in Galveston.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (greenabsinthe -- pinup dala)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 01:43pm on 14/09/2008
Oh man, thank you, all of that is helpful to me. Do you think it's likely that they may intend to hire me long-term, and just worked out a month with the agency or something? Like a trial period? *is hopeful*
lj_stowaway: (Autumn)
posted by [personal profile] lj_stowaway at 02:04pm on 14/09/2008
Yes, that is very likely. In fact, since they asked for you back, I'd go so far as to guess that it's probable. Sometimes budget constraints prevent them from making long-term commitments, even when that's what they intend to do. There are lots of workarounds.

In the category of extreme workarounds: The client where I work now (a big pharma) first took me on a 3-month assignment in March 2001. That one lasted four years. Took a 9-month break (google Vizcaino v. Microsoft for the 'logic' behind enforced breaks between assignments. *eyeroll*) and now I'm in another 3-4 year contract with them. There is a faint chance they will be able to add head-count and hire me, but I'm not counting on it. But I love my team, I like my work and it pays well, so. *g*

Many firms do a temp-to-perm for, as you say, a trial period. If they offer you a permanent position, they will pay a fee to the temp agency, much as they would do to a headhunter, but with the added advantage that they know you pretty well before they make the decision.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (laughtur - jim)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 06:57pm on 17/09/2008
Alrighty, I'm going to pick your expert brain a bit more if you don't mind. I'm pretty sure what happened is that they fired the girl at this job, based on small office signs like one of the ladies saying 'I'm so glad you're back' to me when I came in yesterday (I might be biased because she had didn't have great phone manners when I called, but I digress).

And what I think is going on is that they're looking for someone to hire permanently while I hold the position for the time being. I fished casually, 'So the agency said you'd need me for about a month?' and they confirmed that. In the previous week I worked here, we had conversations about my studies and that I had decided to temp for now while I worked on my thesis and then started looking for a job in my field.

Thing is, I suspect it is going to take me a really, really long time to find a good job in my field - i.e. one that allows me to live at home and make a significant dent in my student loans. This is a nice place and a good position, and I wouldn't mind staying here for a year or two of steady paychecks and a decent salary. But it seems to me like I've given them the idea that I would not be a good investment (and obviously I can't promise that I wouldn't leave if I managed to get a museum/archaeojob offer sooner than expected). Plus there's the added complication of coming through a temp agency; I don't know if it would be more costly for them to hire out of Kelly rather than interview unafilliated applicants.

Sigh. I just don't want to overstep - I feel comfortable here but not comfortable enough to ask about hiring processes, you know? And I don't want to feel foolish if they really were never considering me for long-term to begin with. Of course there's always the possibility that I'm being paranoid and fatalistic and stuff about chickens and eggs.

So! Advise away, please :)
Edited Date: 2008-09-17 07:04 pm (UTC)
lj_stowaway: (Summer)
posted by [personal profile] lj_stowaway at 09:43pm on 17/09/2008
Hmmmm... I understand your reluctance to ask about hiring, but that actually seems to me to be the way to approach it with the best chance of either success, or an authoritative answer why they can't/won't hire you.

Here's what I'd do: I'd find out who the decision-maker is on hiring and simply ask that person if they are taking applications for a permanent person to fill your position. (If they have a hard-wall office, all the better. Ask for 10 minutes of their time and, if granted, go in and shut the door before starting the discussion. This makes it official and looks like you're serious. *g* Also, no need for the whole office to listen in.) If the person says yes they will be interviewing, then ask if you could apply and let that lead into a discussion of what you've told me above. Explain that you want to wait for the perfect job and that such a thing doesn't grow on trees in your field, so you'll most likely be needing work of some kind for quite a while. Don't address the possible cost to them of hiring through Kelly. If it's a deal-breaker, the HR person may very well tell you that up front. No need for you to poke a sleeping dog. *g* Use candor and charm, and be sure to keep your good skills and proven suitability in the conversation (without being aggressive about it) and you'll have the best shot at a good outcome. They may not have considered you for perm because, as you say, you've talked up the job hunt in your field, but if you redefine that a bit as above, they may pounce at the chance of keeping you. Of course, they may also turn you down on the grounds that they want someone guaranteed long-term. You'll be able to tell if it's worthwhile trying wheedle around that objection by pointing out that anybody they hire might quit after six months or even six weeks. If you really have a rapport with the HR person, you can make a joke of cajolery - if you do it with a light touch.

Hope this helps. It's always scary broaching this kind of subject with employers, but a straightforward approach is best. A good manager will thank you for your honesty. Sidling around the issue, asking peripheral people and so forth, doesn't make you look nearly as professional.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (_maven - blair)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 01:30pm on 18/09/2008
Thanks so much! That's exactly the sort of thing I needed to hear. Okay, I think I'm gonna ask about it next week - I don't want to wait too long for them to get into the hiring process. I'm not sure who to ask - there are two women who I've worked with more closely and feel equally comfortable with (the agency gave me both of their names as reference the first day I worked here, and they each approached me after the first stint about the possibility of coming back). One of them is the program manager, the other the office services coordinator. I'm leaning toward asking the latter; what do you think? She was also the one who the agency said asked for me to come back this month (Both of them have genuine offices with doors, fortunately!)

Also, I realized this morning after a call from a former employee that the HR department is completely separate (the office is a program within the county department of Heath & Human Services). But that shouldn't make a difference to this first step, right? Obviously I'd want to talk to the people who know me personally first?

Even if they're not interested in hiring me, at least I'll know :)
Edited Date: 2008-09-18 01:32 pm (UTC)
lj_stowaway: (Default)
posted by [personal profile] lj_stowaway at 02:48pm on 18/09/2008
Yes, I'd say, from what you've told me, that the latter is the person to talk to. And yes, talking to the local folks is the correct first step. If this moves forward, they'll be able to help you navigate the county bureaucracy and will advocate for you.

Good idea to broach the subject next week. That way you're settled in and yet they (one hopes) won't have gone too far with hiring anyone else.

Good luck!
 
posted by [identity profile] lherelenfeline.livejournal.com at 03:51am on 13/09/2008
Congrats on the jobness, and on your uncle making it out.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (me - labyrinth worm)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 01:44pm on 14/09/2008
Thanks! :)

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31