posted by
the_dala at 09:18pm on 18/09/2008
Snagged this off
obama_2008 and felt compelled to share. It's Joe Biden and Hillary Clinton talking women's issues (a problematic term, I admit, but appropriate for this instance) - a longish webcast that's neither an interview nor a debate. They're just kinda sitting there reading questions from voters to one another. Forget about abortion for a second - it's not that it's not important, but this is the economy-focused discussion the candidates need to be having. Also, if you don't know about the VAWA (and thanks to the media, I don't blame you), skip directly to 16:00. Biden's closing bit at the last couple minutes is also nice. I know it's long, but it's important shit, y'all.
See, it's not just Sarah Palin's lack of experience and the campaign's bleating about sexism that has me cheesed off; it's the fact that this nonsense has been dominating the news while Joe gets practically ignored. (Yes, I know the focus is thankfully shifting because of how Wall Street looks like the end of 'The Gift pt. 2,' but the fact that the news revolved around lipstick and the Bridge to Nowhere forever in CNN Time is still fucking ridiculous.)
Less than two months left. We are SO CLOSE. I've gotten kind of news-obsessed these days. I keep the Post site open on whatever screen I'm at and constantly refresh their campaign blog. They have nice Salon links and, for some unfathomable reason, a relationship with The Union. Stay gold, WP, stay gold.
Is it wrong that I'm having crackficcy ideas where the Cullens go hunting in Alaska and Palin tries to shoot Edward down from a plane? ::reminds self to name a future hatchling Renesmee::

See, it's not just Sarah Palin's lack of experience and the campaign's bleating about sexism that has me cheesed off; it's the fact that this nonsense has been dominating the news while Joe gets practically ignored. (Yes, I know the focus is thankfully shifting because of how Wall Street looks like the end of 'The Gift pt. 2,' but the fact that the news revolved around lipstick and the Bridge to Nowhere forever in CNN Time is still fucking ridiculous.)
Less than two months left. We are SO CLOSE. I've gotten kind of news-obsessed these days. I keep the Post site open on whatever screen I'm at and constantly refresh their campaign blog. They have nice Salon links and, for some unfathomable reason, a relationship with The Union. Stay gold, WP, stay gold.
Is it wrong that I'm having crackficcy ideas where the Cullens go hunting in Alaska and Palin tries to shoot Edward down from a plane? ::reminds self to name a future hatchling Renesmee::

(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
http://community.livejournal.com/metaquotes/6840628.html
(no subject)
Now I was gonna say Emmett, but then I remembered - I actually like Emmett.
(no subject)
(This post is win with its BtVS and Twilight references.)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Uh. *clears throat*
can I maybe borrow New Moon when I see you tomorrow?
Which, oh, hey, we still on? Text / call / IM / email me. <3
(no subject)
And yes! I'll call you when I get home from work today.
(no subject)
I wouldn't've even. These wouldn't have been SO funny to me if I hadn't been reading the first one on a plane home from Utah. It's AMAZING how... well. Just, they're amazing.
And by "amazing", I know you mean "amazingly bad".
There aren't going to be any more of them, are there?
Did you read this? Made my entire LIFE!
Great plan. :D :D :D
(no subject)
And I think we must put a trip to Book Alcove in Shady Grove on our agenda. I can't promise they'll have Twilight books, but they are a totally awesome used bookstore.
(no subject)
*facepalm* Yes. Though I am horrified by the idea of OWNING them, however I might buy them.
Aaaah.
What's the awesome one in Twinbrook?
(no subject)
(no subject)
The one I used to work at (Acres of Books) is shutting down in like a month. :(
(no subject)
But on the other awesome bookstores front, I've got to put in a word for the two Friends of the Library Permanent Booksale locations: at Wheaton and, well, roughly Twinbrook, though technically Something-or-other Hills.
The Book Alcove is pretty awesome, though, for sure.
(no subject)
Anyway, hope you have a good day and we'll attempt the theatre thing the next time I emerge from the academic roil.