posted by
the_dala at 11:12am on 24/09/2008

So who else is stoked to see that Obama's up 9% by in the polls? Yeah, it's because everyone thinks the sky is falling, but coming to the conjecture that Obama would make a better umbrella is definitely of the good. Doesn't hurt that McCain has done some truly dumb shit in the past week and folks are finalyl realizing that Palin is long on moosehunting and neocon charm but short on substance. Seriously, y'all, these are some good signs.
I'm super excited about the debate on Friday. It'd be better to start with the economic debate instead of foreign policy, sure...but personally I don't feel people are in the mood for McCain's customary short, declarative, often borderline hostile answers right now.
Sort of ran out of clothes today until I remembered that I could remove the 'suit' part from my pinstripe suit. So I'm wearding the skirt with a blue sweater instead of the jacket, and added my pearls to give it that whiff of class reunion sorority mixer. And how awesome is it that I can finally wear a sweater?! Seriously, I know a lot of people fling off their jackets with glee in the spring, but I am the opposite. I feel about coats and jackets the way some women feel about shoes. I am the girl who prays it will get cold enough to wear her heavy peacoat (I dragged it all the way to Southampton last year and didn't get it out ONCE ::pouts::). I maintain that few people look good in a tank top while anyone can look fabulous in the right coat, but it's not that I like to cover up, necessarily. I just like to layer. And outerwear is one of the few areas in which I feel I have truly good taste. And there are so many accessories! Which I can actually make myself! I barely got to wear the cabled scarf I made end of last winter, and I never did make its matching hat (although I have 2.5 skeins waiting for me in the yarn bag). I really want to try a Fair Isle hat pattern.
This fall/winter I need a rainjacket, as my baby blue peacoat and black trench are both weather-appropriate but too formal to wear everywhere (plus the former has an annoying tendency to stain, adorable thought it may be). I'm also mightly tempted by the riding-gear-looking quilted things I keep seeing everywhere. And anything with military-style buttons. Gahhhh, I have a sickness, I know. I wonder if that beautiful Nautica plaid wool coat (with TOGGLES OMG) I fell in love with last year would be a. still available and b. severely marked down? I am sensing a trip to the outlet mall in Hagerstown. Mama needs a new coat!
Soon I can add back my beloved Kristen Bell 'baby it's cold outside' snowy icon ::frolics::
I totally got a call about a kid with the last name of Cullen today. Tried really hard not to giggle over the phone. I also recently dealt with someone with a last name I thought I'd made up for a SW Mary Sue back in middle school *facepalm*
ETA: I call major shenanigans on McCain's pompous statement and request to postpone Friday's debate so he can swoop on down to DC to singlehandedly get the bailout bill passed. What exactly does he propose to do? They're frickin' working on it! I understand both candidates calling for a bipartisan effort to get this shiznit sorted out quickly (which, btw, OBAMA CALLED HIM FIRST), but I see no reason to suspend the campaign at the beginning of the debates, just two months from the election. Yet if Obama's campaign goes 'Hold on, WTF, can't we debate AND save America,' they're going to look like douchebags. Hmph. I do not like it, I do not like it at all. I think McCain and his people saw the recent polls and flipped out over what they could do to snatch the spotlight back. Aside from going back in time and not supporting deregulation quite so strongly, natch.
(no subject)