the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 09:37pm on 09/10/2008
Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today!

Y'all, I might have to sleep with a pair of boots tonight. Or, not WITH them in like a porny way - wearing them. Or possibly using them as a pillow.

I've been meaning to buy a pair of knee-high boots for a couple of years now. Being done with schooling for the foreseeable future, I finally feel like enough of a grownup to make this a priority. I went to the mall after work because I knew they'd have Columbus Day sales going on. It might surprise you to know that Dad is my constant shoe shopping companion - he used to sell shoes and so can always vouch for quality and fit. And while my mother and I have learned to simply not ask each other's opinions, Dad and I share almost the exact taste in women's footwear (Dad: 'Despite the fact that I don't wear it. Well, only on special occassions'). I knew exactly what I wanted because I don't do heels, fake fur or slouch. This basically left me with leather riding-style boots with a nice 1 - 1 1/2 inch stacked heel. Cuts down on running the sales person back to the stockroom.

So anyway, there's not a whole lot of options in the ever-sketchier Lakeforest, but we exhausted every one. Sears didn't have a single non-synthetic shoe that I could see. I tried on a couple of pairs at Penneys: one was really comfortable, but they were about three-quarter-calf-length and too informal. Lord and Taylor had some pretty boots, but they were all far too expensive with insufficient sale incentive. So I went with a pair of black Bandolinos at Macys - these, actually. I wasn't perfectly happy in the store because I was afraid they gapped a bit at the top and I need a sole insert, but by the time I got home I was in love.

They're pretty, and sexy (not as sexy as the ones with sky-high heels, maybe, but I prefer not to invite disaster to my bad feet and weak ankles). Plus they match my black leather jacket (which - Mom and I spent ten minutes arguing over whether it was black or very dark brown, IT IS BLACK OKAY). And OMG they smell SO GOOD. The smell of leather does things to me, man, with or without the faint afterscent of saddle soap. I keep rubbing my cheek against them. Is that weird?

Next up: perfume. Or cologne, whatever, I don't know the difference. I rubbed some Chanel No. 5 from a magazine ad on my wrists and it smells pretty tasty, but I'm keeping my options open. Maybe something with a hint of butter-soft leather?
Music:: grey's anatomy
Mood:: 'satisfied' satisfied
There are 7 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] cymbeline.livejournal.com at 02:21am on 10/10/2008
I got a pair of Fluevogs last year and still have a major boot crush on them. Super comfy, can wear thick socks or insoles depending on what I need. http://www.funkyshoes.net/images/products2/52317-t.jpg
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (_maven - blair and serena)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 06:16pm on 10/10/2008
Oooh, I like those! Kind of like Doc Martens - one of these days I'm gonna shell out the cash for a real pair, I've owned too many crappy imitations.
 
posted by [identity profile] heatherlayne-n.livejournal.com at 02:35am on 10/10/2008
Those are pretty sexy! I got a pair of almost-knee-high black "riding boots" a couple autumns ago, just $20 sale boots from Target (so clearly not real leather) but I lurb them. I lurb boots in general, and I'm excited that it's getting to be fall, with all the lovely clothes and accessories that means I get to dig out of the closet!
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (undeadmiko - rocking vader)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 06:19pm on 10/10/2008
Exactly! Boots now make up my most expensive footwear (by a lot...) and my cheapest (a pair of grey fake Uggs I bought for seven quid last winter).

Also, I love your icon. That movie rocks.
 
posted by [identity profile] subversivecynic.livejournal.com at 02:59am on 10/10/2008
lucky. I loathe shoe shopping, because I love shoes, and it is impossible to shop for shoes when you wear a size 13.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (hope27 - cotton)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 06:19pm on 10/10/2008
Oh man! That is quite a task.
 
posted by [identity profile] kahva.livejournal.com at 08:55am on 10/10/2008
I wish I could have as easy a time finding shoes that I won't kill - or kill my back and legs - in the space of a couple of months. If I'm wearing the shoes for any length of time, they need to hold my molds/orthotics. Which means for me mid-high sneakers, solid construction. I've had to get men's shoes the last few times, can't find anything strong enough in women's that will fit. Plus, I have to be two pairs of shoes to get one pair, because I have a two size difference. I hate shoe shopping with a passion.

I so wish I had normal feet, shoe shopping would be so much easier, and probably a lot more fun. I love boots, I congratulate you on yours!! That's the kind of heel I would need to get too, any kind of narrow or really high heel is just asking for me to break my legs, back and neck.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31