the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:22am on 17/10/2008
Adopt one today! Adopt one today! Adopt one today!

Went on a very frustrating shopping expedition last night when I got home from work. I need a jacket, y'see - I have a barn coat, a very heavy wool peacoat, a trenchcoat and a leather jacket, but nothing that is lightweight, casual-but-work-appropriate, and wearable in the rain (plus reasonably priced). You'd think this wouldn't be so difficult to handle, but...I am much like Goldilocks when I'm looking for a specific thing rather than browsing, apparently. I went to Target, where they had lovely wool coats I did not need and this jacket that taunted me. It came in a pretty green and it had peacoat-inspired buttons and double-breasted-ness. Except that somebody forgot to make the bottom of it. Look, thin people can wear all the cropped stuff they want, but it makes me look dumpy and short-torsoed and I hate it. It was a swing coat, so not only was it cropped, it had this enormous pleat in the back so it ballooned out over the waist. I tried it on twice, in multiple colors (although I had my heart set on the green), and it just never looked good nor did I find it particularly comfortable.

So I walked across the street to Kohls, and what did I find? Courdoroy jackets in earth tones with hoods - great! Except that they were all lined, and therefore too warm for my purposes. I wandered back further and my eyes caught a similar shade of green to the Target jacket. Unfortunately, that wasn't the only resemblence. It was basically an identical cut, except with a slightly smaller pleat in the back. Plus they had it in every size but the one I needed. The only other alternatives were short-sleeved trench-esque things. Can somebody please explain to me WHAT IS THE FUCKING POINT of a short sleeved jacket? I seriously want to know.

I was quite grumpy by this point, but I did finally find a pair of brown shoes. They're light brown with a buckle at the toe, basically flat but with a little wedge heel (normally I am opposed to wedge heels, but these are reasonable). I think they're the same ones Tina had, and they were half-price, so now I have brown shoes. Huzzah. They aren't the most comfortable shoes in the world, but they make a very satisfying clacking sound.

Still grumpy, and there was a Barnes and Noble between me and the car. I wandered around for about fifteen minutes, not finding stuff I wanted and finding stuff I wanted but did not feel like actually buying, and basically worked myself up into a mood. On my way out, I finally saw Neil Gaiman's new YA novel The Graveyard Book. Sigh. I never buy new hardcovers. It was only because it was so close to the register. I have half a mind to return it, especially because Dad ordered an extra ticket when I got home and I have to pay for half of it. But that's a yay, because YAY! I'm going to the football game on Sunday!

Anyway, I'm in a better mood today because I may not have found a jacket, but I still have a bunch of new clothes. I'm wearing the plaid wool skirt, the dark purple sweater and the new brown shoes. It was chilly enough to wear my boots today, but the shoes look better with the outfit. The skirt concerns me so, though, because it has a box pleat in the front and I'm worried that the seam will split. So I kind of gather the fabric over my thighs when I'm sitting, to keep it from pulling. This is probably me being paranoid, as it's quite a well-made skirt.

Gahhh, it's so slow today. I haven't done a single intake. Am just sitting here staring at the screen, waiting for it to be lunchtime. In the meantime, some TV babble. 'Grey's Anatomy' was very good last night. George with the kid and Callie's 'Below the Mason Dixon line...in your pants' were my favorite parts. (One intake, huzzah!) And I realise this was two weeks ago now (and I haven't seen last night's ep, so no spoilers please), but 'In the Beginning' was one of 'Supernatural's absolute best. For one thing it was perfectly cast (something they've been good at recently; the Rugaru guy also did an excellent job last week). Dean with young Mary broke my damn heart. I always forget that Jensen Ackles does good work on his own, I guess because there's almost always the Dean&Sam dynamic. In short: Thursday nights are the best. Well, Mondays too, what with the awesomeness of 'Gossip Girl' and HIMYM.

Bored again. Boo.
Mood:: 'blank' blank
Music:: last train to clarksville - the monkees
There are 4 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] oneiriad.livejournal.com at 04:34pm on 17/10/2008
I think your dragons are going to have issues - or at least be confused about their gender identity...

The Graveyard Book is fun. You do realize that Neil Gaiman's blog has videos of him reading the whole thing, right? It's quite entertaining.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (jeeeerk - kevin and martin)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 06:56pm on 17/10/2008
I did not realize that. The whole thing? I really might return it now, heh.

And why are all my dragons girls?! I named them in hope!
 
posted by [identity profile] oneiriad.livejournal.com at 07:25pm on 17/10/2008
*nods* The whole thing.

And why are all my dragons girls?! I named them in hope!
Maybe the universe is feeling contrary?
 
posted by [identity profile] laurelin-kit.livejournal.com at 06:50pm on 17/10/2008
I don't care for Gossip Girl, but Leighton Meester is so pretty.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31