the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 02:03pm on 17/10/2008
I went to Califonia Tortilla for a bean-and-cheese burrito and was instead confronted with this. Now that is a difficult choice, y'all. I'm ashamed to say (as I apologized to the cashier) that I had to go with the McCain-chilada. I am a whore for velvety queso and cilanto. Plus I disapprove of turkey chili.. Ground turkey can't stay the course in a decent chili.

But my opinion is only one small thread of the electorate. So tell me, flist, which of these two burritos would you elect to your Mexican fast food chain? The O-chili-bama Burrito of 'Mexican rice, turkey chili, tortilla strips, jalapeno peppers, fresh salsa and shredded lettuce all rolled in a flour tortilla and smothered with queso and garnished with cilantro and green onions'? Or its competitor the McCain-chilada: 'Mexican rice, mesquite chicken, tortilla strips, velvety queso (as opposed to queso with spikes), fresh salsa and shredded lettuce all rolled in a flour tortilla and smothered with green enchilada sauce and garnished with sour cream and cilantro'?

[Poll #1280515]


Remember that at CalTor you can pretty much order the whole menu vegetarian, so everyone can play! No partisan bias!

BTW, Friday afternoons are for Motown. Represent.

This has nothing to do with the poll, but you know what I think is weird? Naming a little girl Re(a)gan. It's not common, but I've known a few Re(a)gans personally. See, there are three levels of American cultural association with that name. Either you're naming your kid after King Lear's evil daughter; after possessed, pea soup-spitting Linda Blair in 'The Exorcist' (the most disturbing association, IMO); or after Ronald. Which, even if you're a big Reagan fan, you are still naming a baby girl after an old white guy. I don't mean to offend any Re(a)gans who might be reading this, but I do think it's a very unusual name to maintain. Like, we've fallen out with names like Betty and Esther, but we're still kicking Reagan around?
Music:: the real thing - the chiffons
Mood:: 'full' full
There are 2 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] erinya.livejournal.com at 07:46pm on 17/10/2008
I think Regan is pretty with no extra a. Not one of my top baby names, though.
 
posted by [identity profile] kahva.livejournal.com at 08:47pm on 17/10/2008
I have an Aunt Betty, Aunt Esther, and a cousin who's a few years older than me that's Betty Margaret. No Reagans anywhere that I'm aware of.

Actually your post has reminded me of the character in Bloom County who was named by her parents after Ronald, the little girl named Ronalda, as I recall. Carried around a headless ragdoll. Now I'm having Bloom County urges, and all my books are at my mother's.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31