posted by
the_dala at 03:55pm on 22/10/2008

Every now and then, Yahoo puts up a food-related article that isn't designed to make you hate yourself and all your stupid values: The 10 Most Disappointing Halloween Treats
Seriously, I always prefered the houses where they turned out the lights and refused to come to the door to ones that gave out this stuff. You don't celebrate Halloween or you're just a cheap asshole, fine, but don't drop something in our bags and then crush our hopes of what might have been. While it's true that we always engaged in a three-to-four-hour cutthroat session of candy trading after we ran out of neighborhoods, some candies are just a liability. You lose cred if you bring home a crap haul. And then all you can do is try to foist them off on a parent, who you just know will later sneak into your secret candy lair while you're at school to steal the Milky Way they were refused in the first place.
I do like Smarties and candy corn, but the former is pretty far down on the preference list (ugh, Necco wafers are DISGUSTING and I will never understand why they're still in production). And the latter should NEVER EVER be given out unless it's in individual vaccuum-sealed snack packages ::shudders::
But the overall point stands. Now I don't condone vandalism, but I have trouble mustering up any sympathy for the houses that get egged and pumpkin-smashed for giving out fuckin' mini toothbrushes. And you know they do.
At the other end of the spectrum, the rare house willing to shell out the bucks for full-sized candy bars (which in my neighborhood were only a myth, although Meg swears one of the houses in her development used to do this)? Ought to wake up on November 1st to find their garden watered, lawn mowed and dog stuffed with snausages.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
I mean, it's like fruitcake. Nobody ever EATS them. They just get shuffled around to brand new owners every year.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Speaking of candy bars, when I was little, my mother and her sister took me T&Ting one year and every time I got back in the car, they would rifle through my haul and pick stuff out. MY HAUL. And then they got indignant when I went to old Mr. Scott's house and asked him for two extra candy bars for them so they wouldn't steal mine.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Maybe I'll go get those fifty-cent pieces of chocolate at the specialty store and let the kids enjoy those.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
But yes, savory chocolate's one of the best things I know of to put in my mouth. Mid-seventies, nothing's finer.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Hershey's is junk, especially without cocoa butter, but...I will totally still eat it if it's lying around.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Especially as I am a sugar-disabled type, so I'm a little biased anyway. ;)