posted by
the_dala at 10:19pm on 03/05/2009
Went to see "Wolverine" today. My one requirement was that it be better than X3, and fortunately it leaped over that low threshold with ease. I may have clapped like a seal when Gambit finally appeared* (nice job from Taylor KidfromFridayNightLights - Tina will like it, and Megan will like the bit where Gambit takes an elbow to the face, because she hates his Cajun ass). Hugh Jackman was naked a lot, which pleased me. Liev Shrieber was perfectly cast. Great action/effects sequences, gorgeous scenery (o hai New Zealand! We missed you!). My one complaint was the dearth of estrogen, especially for an X-Men movie. Lynn Collins had pretty much the only notable female role, and she's not that great an actress (although she is so crazy beautiful that I didn't realize this until the end of the film). All in all, I am satisfied. It's not Bryan Singer, but more importantly it's not Brett fucking Ratner.
And then I came home and watched "Soul Men," and fuck if I didn't love that too. No, it was not terribly original, but it was entertaining from start to finish and a wonderful goodbye from Bernie Mac.
Man, the critics can really bite me hard this weekend. I just hope "Star Trek" lives up to its current 100% Tomatometer rating, because I don't really want to see my dad weeping in a movie theater.
Oh, I forgot I also watched "Fanboys" and it is geek paradise. It genuinely celebrates the human, personal aspect of fannishness while mocking it gleefully. I'm sorry I didn't make the effort to see it in theaters.
*although Dad stepped all over his first line because he was busy squeeing over the pro poker player at the table with him. Dad watches too much TV poker.
And then I came home and watched "Soul Men," and fuck if I didn't love that too. No, it was not terribly original, but it was entertaining from start to finish and a wonderful goodbye from Bernie Mac.
Man, the critics can really bite me hard this weekend. I just hope "Star Trek" lives up to its current 100% Tomatometer rating, because I don't really want to see my dad weeping in a movie theater.
Oh, I forgot I also watched "Fanboys" and it is geek paradise. It genuinely celebrates the human, personal aspect of fannishness while mocking it gleefully. I'm sorry I didn't make the effort to see it in theaters.
*although Dad stepped all over his first line because he was busy squeeing over the pro poker player at the table with him. Dad watches too much TV poker.
(no subject)
It did suffer from the One Woman in the World syndrome, though, just like Watchman and Dark Knight.
(no subject)
The Blob fight was totally stupid, but did seem like something that would've happened on the old cartoon show which is the genesis of my X-fannishness.
(no subject)
It was loads of fun, and that was what I wanted out of it. And yay for the incidental mundane utility of superpowers!
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
I made the joke to my brother as we were going into the cinema that I would walk out if Hugh didn't get his ass out. But lo and behold, just for little ol' me... :D He did look quite stunning throughout, I have to say.
Superficial thoughts aside, I'm a sucker for genesis moments in movies/tv shows, so this entire film was taken up with me going 'OMG look!', and I too had a major squee moment when Gambit appeared (he's been my fake mutant BF since I was 13). I would liked to have seen more of him though.
(no subject)