the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 02:13am on 06/03/2010
Just got back from "Alice In Wonderland." Okay, so I fully admit that my Lewis Carroll knowledge comes entirely from the Disney cartoon and a book of poems I still have sitting next to The Elephant's Child right this very moment (including "The Walrus and the Carpenter," "The Jabberwocky" which always made me sad for some reason, and my favorite "Turtle Soup"), not the actual Alice books. I have no idea how I managed to escape childhood without reading them, considering my grandmother Libby LOVES Carroll. Possibly I was too preoccupied with her/my Oz books.

Which brings me to my point, actually: This movie and I were made for each other.

You know how two of my childhood favorite movies are "Return to Oz" and "Labyrinth"? This is like that, except Alice gets to slay a dragon instead of just letting her talking chicken lay an egg or resisting the disturbing allure of David Bowie's package, respectively. I went to see it mostly because of my Tim Burton affection, expecting both the film and Johnny Depp would be beautiful to look at as always. But because of what Burton did with it, I effing loved every second. The critics can suck it. I felt like I was seven years old again, and it was awesome.

We did see it in 3D, about which I have basically no opinion ::shrugs:: It looks cool enough most of the time and doesn't give me a headache, but I find it distracting for quick-moving action sequences, and I don't know that I'd miss what visual effect it does add were it not there.

Then I tried to win a Kirk out of the claw machine, to join the Spock I got last weekend, but he was at a funny angle and his head kept getting in the way of one of the talons. Dammit, Jim! You ruined my claw machine cred! (I am a fucking master of the claw machine, no joke. I snagged six substantial stuffed prizes during my one evening in Tivoli. If there were an Olympics for carnival games, I would be the Apollo Ohno of the claw machine.)
Mood:: 'bouncy' bouncy
There are 5 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] kahva.livejournal.com at 07:23am on 06/03/2010
If there were an Olympics for carnival games, I would be the Apollo Ohno of the claw machine.

Now I have an image of you playing a claw machine where the claws are golden and fast. :) :) :)
ext_15536: Fuschias by Geek Mama (Depp - Mad Hatter)
posted by [identity profile] geekmama.livejournal.com at 05:38pm on 06/03/2010
*bows to your mad claw machine skillz*

My niece is good at the claw machine, too - got kicked off a Circus Circus machine one time, when she was snagging toys right and left for my daughters.

I'm so with you on Wonderland, we saw it last night and even before it was over I was thinking, "Must see again!!"
 
posted by [identity profile] viva-gloria.livejournal.com at 08:04pm on 06/03/2010
WHERE IS THE RED KNIGHT / HATTER FIC WHERE WHERE

that is (ahem) just saw it and it was gorgeous. And full of ... well, you scratch Depp's surface and there's pirate in there.

I regret to say I was muttering to [livejournal.com profile] p0wdermonkey about there being pirates on the way to China.
 
posted by [identity profile] dharma-slut.livejournal.com at 08:43pm on 06/03/2010
Not yet having seen it, I have this feeling that it ought to have been called "Johnny in Wonderland."

But hey, that would be JUST FINE with me.
 
posted by [identity profile] ceria-taliesin.livejournal.com at 01:35am on 07/03/2010
Yeah, saw it today and I hadn't expected to like it. It truly is awesome and I'm a little in love with Alice. Especially Alice in armor.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31