the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
So was it just me or was that totally fucking crazy awesome?

Oh "True Blood" how I love thee, let me count the ways:

1. SEXYTIMES. Bill/Sookie all kinky and ridiculous and deeply embarrassing because of the actors' personal lives, just how I like it; Lafayette/Jesus (sadly only implied, but still); Eric/Talbot (I didn't think the actors were very convincing when they were actually macking, but they sure did look good naked together). Really, what the hell else is being on HBO good for? Oh and Jason/Crystal, I guess, not that I really care (although him scooping her up in the blanket was cute). And Sophie Ann/Hadley in her sexy lingerie - I'd love to see that deleted scene. I like how the king and queen have their matched set of consorts. Er, had.

2. Alcide. Just...Alcide, in general. But in particular Alcide in a white tank top, and Alcide towering over Bill at the hospital, and Alcide in very well-fitting jeans and denim shirt, and Alcide nuzzling Sookie with his face (I get that people have issues with Anna Paquin's acting, but she does have chemistry with every one of those men/vamps/weres/other that fall all over her like she's got beer-flavored nipples. Also she cries real good). Mmmmm. I can't quite explain why Joe Mangianello in this role is like a perfect storm of hotness for me, but I'm not complaining.

3. GIRLFIGHT! Was there hair pulling? I can't remember but god I hope there was hair pulling. I love me some kickass Sookie. The actress playing Debbie is really good. Of course she could've beaten her in wolf form and of course Sookie could've shot her, but that wasn't the point.

4. Alfre Woodard knowing damn well what show she's on and chewing up all the scenery she could find in Bon Temps, bless her.

5. Russell's silver spurs. Was...was that supposed to turn me on? Because, um...

6. Tara having serious PTSD, including those creepy sex dreams that are part and parcel of drinking vamp blood. Sam startling her and then comforting her was a nice bit. That's part of why I loved this ep - there were more small character moments and reconnections.

7. Terry singing to Arlene's belly! This was like the day of Todd Lowe + incoming babies, there was this scene and then I watched "Gilmore Girls" earlier, one from the last season when that poor girl playing Lane was stuffed into the fakest pregnancy suit ever.

8. Bill and Jessica - her crying into his thigh, commiserating over their human lovers, their training and defending Sookie together. I heart them. That's the only time I really like Bill.

And this leads me to the last and best:

9. "No way!" *dramatic pause* "Way." Stephen Moyer doesn't get a lot of the plum lines, but his delivery of them is always perfection.

Yeah, I'll definitely be watching this one again. I'm glad I didn't read the relevant books(s) this season; there's already one poster on the TWoP boards who says they're not taking advantage of "some great material." I mean...really? The first two books were entertaining but the show is better in pretty much every way. Great literature they ain't (and Megan swears they get exponentially more cracked out as they go).
Music:: "fire," augustana
There are 2 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] tricksterquinn.livejournal.com at 07:38am on 09/08/2010
Ok, I will watch. (no, I didn't spoil myself. No, I don't know why not.)
 
posted by [identity profile] avaserenity.livejournal.com at 02:36pm on 09/08/2010
Oh my god thank you very much!! Finally someone who see the show they way I do. I freaking loved last night's episode. I also love the books but I knew the show would take a lot of creative license with what they did and didn't use and when they used it.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31