the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
I hope everybody had a lovely day yesterday! I spent it at my grandmother's as per tradition. Also as per tradition, there were far too many people crammed into my grandmother's little rowhouse (though not as many small children as usual). Prior to that we opened gifts and made the big Christmas breakfast - eggs, bacon, biscuits, sausage gravy (sadly the kind out of the package, because Dad can't actually have bacon AND sausage). Only my mother couldn't eat any of it...because she was hungover. She and my aunt really got into the wine on Christmas Eve. It was rather amusing at first, but she was really sick all day long, too sick to go to Grandma's, and that's less funny. She's managed to keep some tea down, at least.

This year Santa brought me a Kindle, which I have named Threepio - fitting given its function, I thought, and also my laptop is named Artoo. It is so much more awesome than I imagined. GUYS NO ONE TOLD ME YOU CAN PUT AUDIOBOOKS ON IT TOO. I don't think I'll add music because that's what my iPod is for, but I appreciate the option. I might be tempted to use the text-to-speech function at work if I can get over the voice. It's not as bad as, like, the old Mavis Beacon ones, but it still sounds mildly computerized in an Uncanny Valley way. Biggest flaw is that it doesn't understand the grammatical function of the en dash.

I love the random author and art images that come up when it's on hold - clearly there just to show off the quality of the e-ink presentation (it really is amazing. I suspect the next generation will have added color like the Nook). It has an experimental web browser, which is difficult to navigate but again, probably something Amazon will fine-tune in later models. Mostly I am excited by how easy it is to convert all sorts of formats into Kindle format. I read fic yesterday! In the car! I mean I put real books on it too, but still. I also got a beautiful red leather case with a built-in light. I looooove it.

Brb reading the rest of [livejournal.com profile] space_wrapped on the Kindle JUST BECAUSE I CAN.
Mood:: 'excited' excited
There are 9 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] pir8fancier.livejournal.com at 04:16pm on 26/12/2010
Merry Christmas, my dear!
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (suzyx - a christmas story)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:23pm on 26/12/2010
Thanks, you too! :)
 
posted by [identity profile] abigail89.livejournal.com at 04:20pm on 26/12/2010
I need to figure out how to read [livejournal.com profile] space_wrapped on my new Kindle too. So far, I've figured out how to put books on it. :D
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (meriadoc_icons - johnny book)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:26pm on 26/12/2010
It's easy! You download this program called Calibre, and then you can convert pretty much anything to the Kindle MOBI format and add it. I've been copy-pasting fic into Word then converting that. And adding pretty pictures of Chris and Karl to the file :)
ext_15536: Fuschias by Geek Mama (Jack Santa by Gryphons_lair)
posted by [identity profile] geekmama.livejournal.com at 06:34pm on 26/12/2010
Merry Christmas, and congrats on Threepio! I am so very tempted by the Kindle. It sounds like you had a lovely holiday (except for the mom/wine pairing - *sympathy*). Wishing you all the best!
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (snoopypez - mistletoe jon and stephen)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:40am on 27/12/2010
Thank you! I hope you guys had a good one too :)
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (angel_elf_icons - santa hat chris)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:41am on 27/12/2010
Calibre's really simple to use and kind of...elegant? Heh, I was impressed.
ext_387759: Screengrab from "Turnabout Intruder", Spock prepared to meld with Janice who is really Kirk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] janice-lester.livejournal.com at 08:56pm on 26/12/2010
You may or may not know this, but I convert the vast majority of the fanfic I consume into synthetic-voiced audiobooks--so I can assure you, it is possible to get used to a computerised voice, especially if it's a good one. After a while, it becomes sort of invisible, you know? You stop hearing the voice and only hear the words. Whether it's worth trying to acquire that familiarity with a synthetic voice may depend on how much stuff you have to do that doesn't require your full attention and so can be done while listening to fanfic. For me, it's cross-stitch. Cross-stitch on its own doesn't hold my attention, and nor does audio, but by their powers combined... :-)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (snoopypez - mistletoe jon and stephen)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:43am on 27/12/2010
I listen to audiobooks at work because my job's mostly data entry done with half a brain, heh. I did listen to part of a fic in the car tonight and it wasn't too bad. At least it could pronounce Uhura!

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31