the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 08:14pm on 28/01/2011
I just want to share with you guys that I am currently reading The Passage by Justin Cronin, and that it is so good. It is so good that I can hardly tear myself away from it long enough to type this, and yet it is so good that I had to tear myself away for a few minutes to flail about it.

A break would probably be of the good. Due to the beauty of modern technology I have been reading for, oh, eleven hours or so. I read it on the elliptical at the gym, I had Threepio read to me at work and then I camped out on the couch when I got home. That's...well, the Kindle doesn't actually HAVE pages, but I started the day at about 52% and am currently at 80%, with every intention of finishing in the wee hours of the morning. This is the first chance I have to watch SPN in real time in months and I don't even think I'm going to turn it on (plus the ep is apparently about virgin sacrifices so I'm sure it'll have some thing or five that will piss me off). Amazon says it's nearly 800 pages, so that's quite a lot of book to tear through in a workday. Have I mentioned that I love my Kindle? Because I fucking love my Kindle. Were it legal to marry an electronic device, we would be announcing our engagement tomorrow. I faffed about with a display Nook in B&N yesterday and it only served to convince me that the Kindle is indeed my soul mate. I don't care if touch screens are the wave of the future, I like a nice, unobtrusive keyboard.

Anyway. The middle was starting to drag a bit until I realized it was building toward a post-apocalyptic road trip, which is one of my favorite varieties of one of my favorite tropes. And it is just at full warp now, and I need to get back to it, but yeah. If you're looking for an intricate, intelligent, meticulously plotted, totally engrossing book about how the world ends not in fire or in ice but in vampires which are a genuinely scary and original addition to the canon - and really, who isn't? - get on that shit RIGHT NOW.


ETA: Holy shit that was good. The ending punched me in the face. And apparently it is to be a trilogy. YES PLEASE SIR I WILL HAVE SOME MORE.

...I cannot believe I read half of that giant fat book in one day. And still went to work.

Now I need to watch The Soup or something.
Mood:: 'exhilerated' exhilerated
There are 6 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] avaserenity.livejournal.com at 04:17am on 29/01/2011
I remember reading the The Passage when it first came out... AWESOME!!!

It's definitely one that is hard to put down once you start.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (meriadoc_icons - johnny book)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:35am on 29/01/2011
Yeah, I think my eyeballs are angry with me right now...
 
posted by [identity profile] star98hope.livejournal.com at 04:48pm on 29/01/2011
oooooh, it's supposed to be a trilogy? I didn't know that, awesome! I read The Passage this fall and looooooooooved it. :D
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (rust_stardust - 101 dalmatians)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 12:04pm on 31/01/2011
I didn't know either! Eagerly awaiting the next one now.
 
posted by [identity profile] heatherlayne-n.livejournal.com at 07:51pm on 29/01/2011
I think I will tear through that during my spring break in March! Thanks for the rec.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (nikki4noo - chris and the football)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 12:05pm on 31/01/2011
You're welcome! :)

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31