the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
Just got back from "Thor," or, How Papa Kirk Learns How to Be an Awesome God-Hero Instead of a Royal Douche. And I must say, Chris Hemsworth acquitted himself very well. He nailed all the shades called for by the script - charm, arrogance, humor, gravitas, nobility, etc. While looking fine as hell, GODDAMN. There could've been more gratuitous fanservice, though. If the whole movie had just been Chris Hemsworth wandering around the desert shirtless, it would still be worth the price of admission. (But not 3D, because seriously, fuck 3D).

More on the acting - as always, I find it difficult to judge Natalie Portman objectively because I can feel Megan's burning hatred from ten miles down the road. While I wouldn't say she was bad, she did feel a little...out of place, I guess? Not as much as that stoner medieval thing with James Franco, but still. And the romance with Thor was definitely lacking. That was some combination of tepid chemistry between the actors and obvious cuts to the storyline, and it did cause the climax to lose impact. I wish that just once they could do a superhero movie without a romantic subplot, and with all the Asgard family drama this would've been a good opportunity.

Aside from that, it was...pretty good. Not my favorite Marvel adaptation, but Thor's not my favorite Marvel canon(s) either, so I wasn't expecting that. There were places where I suddenly remembered oh yeah, this is a Kenneth Branaugh film, but the action wasn't poorly directed. The effects were nice, especially the rainbow bridge. Didn't care much for the score - it was generic at best and actually distracted from a couple of key scenes for me.

Oh! I almost forgot - so nice to see a girl as the comic relief sidekick for a change. Kat Dennings was perfectly cast and needs to be in more things. Ray Stevenson was also delightful as always.

In conclusion: good star vehicle for Hemsworth, enjoyable start to the blockbuster season. Now I'm building excitement for "Captain America," which I'm certain will hit more of my kinks, and the new X-Men which looks amaaaaazing even if it fucks with actual time. And then Avengers! Yay Marvel!

ETA: Posting this for [livejournal.com profile] sail_aweigh - her friends lost their beagle Sassafrass on April 8th. If you're in the DC area, please keep an eye out; more details in the vid.

Mood:: 'tired' tired
There are 8 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] oneiriad.livejournal.com at 08:23am on 07/05/2011
I think my favourite part of the Thor movie is the fact that - out of all the Marvel heroes I've seen so far - Thor actually seems like a thoroughly nice guy. A bit boisterous, maybe, but still - nice.

But yeah, they should have ditched the was-that-actually-a-romance-we-just-passed plotline. And it should have ended with Thor giving Loki a hug, because seriously, that fucked-up boy needs a hug. Badly.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (avictoriangirl - turquoise ring chris)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:12am on 08/05/2011
He totally is a nice guy! All gallant and gentlemanly :)
 
posted by [identity profile] delurker.livejournal.com at 10:44am on 07/05/2011
I really enjoyed Thor! I loved that both Thor and Jane had friends -- the family and friend relationships were really enjoyable in this movie.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (floating_icons - indiana jones)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:14am on 08/05/2011
Me too! I could've watched a whole 'nother movie about Thor and his warrior buddies running around Asgard. And everything Kat Dennings said or did was golden.
 
posted by [identity profile] sangueuk.livejournal.com at 11:59am on 07/05/2011
I haven't seen the movie yet so I didn't read all of this post in case it was spoilery - but yeah, Hemsworth = fine!

and THIS: (But not 3D, because seriously, fuck 3D). abso-fucking-lutely! I hate 3D with a passion although, it was cool seeing 'Cave of Forgotten Dreams' with it. They're saying it's the way forward with indie-documentaries. I am not convinced but, yanno, maybe...
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (avictoriangirl - black and white karl)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:16am on 08/05/2011
Heh, I didn't feel like cutting so I tried to keep it vague.

I know better than to see action movies in 3D - they make my head hurt :(
 
posted by [identity profile] sail-aweigh.livejournal.com at 10:49pm on 07/05/2011
Thank you so much for reposting! The further this vid goes, the more hope we have.

I'm going to see Thor tomorrow! I really liked what I saw of Chris Hemsworth in the previews and his very small bit in ST:AOS was very well done, I think we've got an up-and-comer there.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (halfpast_icons - sulu)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 04:17am on 08/05/2011
Oh yeah, he's got a bright future ahead of him! I just hope he doesn't get typecast too much.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31