the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 04:49pm on 22/07/2011
What...just WHAT.

Our air conditioning is broken - not just ours, but everybody's, or at least everybody in our section. I just got off the phone with the leasing office where the lady explained to me that it's not working because the...water that cools the thing can't stay cool? Or something? I did not understand. Basically it boils down to "it's just so hot!" OH REALLY I HADN'T NOTICED THE HEAT INDEX OF 120, THANKS SO MUCH FOR THE INFO.

I realize this is record-breaking fucking weather, but I swear I don't remember it breaking down last year just because it was too hot (this is actually a recurring problem, the actual temperature does not reflect the thermostat setting like 75% of the time, but it hasn't been critical until now). Perhaps I just blocked the memories because they were too traumatic, I dunno - I know there was a storm that knocked out the power, but that was the whole grid, not just the AC. I just don't get how it can be working enough to make it "10 degrees cooler" and they're "trying other things" to get it to work. It works the way it fucking works (or, you know, fucking DOESN'T). How do you just, like, transfigure it to operate some other way? How air get cold?

Fortunately I am dogsitting for Dr. M tonight so I can sleep in the air-conditioned house with the little dogs, but that does not solve the larger problem. Do we just turn the AC off entirely? Will the paint melt off the walls? What about the next time it hits 95+ (because it will happen, oh yes, August is just around the corner)? HOW is it considered fixing the problem when solution is just "wait until it gets less hot"? And I'm lucky that I have my parents' house to retreat to if necessary, but goddamnit I pay rent and utilities for an AIR-CONDITIONED APARTMENT, and anyway what about people who have nowhere else to go?

Fuck summer. I fucking hate it. I can't handle heat, my brain stops being able to process anything beyond "hothothotI'msohot", I wither up and die inside and am a horrible miserable person morning noon and night. Fans do not help, because LUKEWARM AIR BLOWING DIRECTLY ON ME NOOOOO. I can't wait until November. No, January.
Mood:: 'angry' angry
There are 8 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 09:18pm on 22/07/2011
Our AC unit was "frozen over" earlier this summer. I don't know what it means, but they turned it off for a couple of hours, the maintenance guy did something, and then we turned it on and it worked again....
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (backseaticons - mario)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 01:31pm on 23/07/2011
Fiddling with my own thermostat does nothing, unfortunately, it's connected to some larger system that apparently doesn't do the one damn thing it is supposed to do when it's most needed :/
 
posted by [identity profile] emiliglia.livejournal.com at 09:46pm on 22/07/2011
Our AC at work is steam-powered and yesterday and today they were repairing the pipes, so there was no AC. Then having to wear a bunch of plastic protective labwear and going into rooms that had temps in the 70s but 70-80% humidity was not fun.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (lulubloom - grey's timeout)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 01:32pm on 23/07/2011
Ugh, overheated labs sound awful!
 
posted by [identity profile] sangueuk.livejournal.com at 10:49pm on 22/07/2011
This all sounds pretty grim, bb - and I feel bad because it just never stops fucking raining in England and I dream of summer, a proper one, with a pleasant 75 degrees and just one fucking evening when we can sit outside without our coats on. Having said that, what you're going through sounds a nightmare. I'd hug you, but it'll only make you sweat more!
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (backseaticons - mario)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 01:35pm on 23/07/2011
Summer at 75 degrees sounds glorious. Heh, I wish I could've spent a full summer in England, even with the rain! Really the solution here is to move north. New Englanders keep telling me how hardcore their winter is and I'm like BRING IT.
 
posted by [identity profile] weepingnaiad.livejournal.com at 08:18pm on 24/07/2011
I keep fearing that our A/C won't hold up under all this heat!

I hope yours is fixed soon!
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (me - labyrinth worm)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 01:56am on 26/07/2011
It seems to be behaving, although it's not working as well as it should :/ Hope yours is still truckin'!

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31