the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:44pm on 11/10/2011
Just watched "The Poughkeepsie Tapes." Suddenly wishing a. I hadn't put a load of laundry in at 9 which I still have to go down to the basement and get and b. still had my hockey stick from high school. Very, very scary. Some of the interview segments were too...acting-y, but the 'found footage' is incredibly effective.

In related news, I've reached the point in October where I want to do nothing but watch horror movies, read Stephen King, and listen to my crazy-awesome Halloween mix (up to 155 and I should have some more to add this season). So here's the other horror-related media I've taken in lately:

"Red State" - if I hadn't know beforehand that this was a Kevin Smith film, he'd have been the absolute last person I would guess. Well, aside from the profanity. It was...damn. I watched it with [livejournal.com profile] ennyousai and neither of us knew quite what to say when it was over. I will say that I'm incredibly glad the real Phelps cult is only interested in litigation and being cartoonishly horrible people, not actual violence.

"American Zombie" - pretty good for flying totally under the radar. The tone switch from funny to creepy was well-handled, and the acting was a lot better than I expected.

"The Ruins" - not a classic by any means and the characters are abysmally stupid but hey, I've always liked Jena Malone. It does have some good gruesomeness and decent body horror - the evil vines creeping around under people's skin gave me the serious wiggins.

"Trick 'r Trick" - good old-fashioned horror flick that doesn't take itself too seriously. It reminded me of "Creepshow" a little. It was weird seeing Anna Paquin as a brunette again, I'm so used to Sookie.

And then "Poughkeepsie," which was supposed to be "Martyrs" but the soft-coded subs were very out-of-sync and it was frustrating. Hopefully I can track down a better copy.

I'm also reading The Exorcist, which I quite like. The movie was such a let-down when I finally saw it in middle school and I'm curious to see if I like it any better now. Then it's on to the King! First on the roster is The Shining (reread), Cujo, and Misery. And maybe some old Fear Street books, if I can dig them up.

This weekend I'm going to both Markoff's - our usual Scary Town - and Terror Behind the Walls at the Eastern State Penitentiary, which is supposed to be awesome (plus real Philly cheesesteaks and the Art Museum if we have time). My voice will probably be completely shot from screaming on Monday.

::bounces:: I love Halloween!

ETA: Retrieved laundry; did not get murdered in the basement; win.
Music:: big bang theory to scrub the movie from my brain
Mood:: 'cheerful' cheerful
There are 2 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] therumjournals.livejournal.com at 10:48am on 12/10/2011
Terror Behind the Walls at the Eastern State Penitentiary - I used to work there! In the box office, but still...I had some seriously great times there, and made a bunch of friends, and my husband used to work there scaring people before I met him! And then I lived a few blocks away from Eastern State for like 2 years!

Now that you know my whole history, enjoy your trip! It's a great haunted house, and you should do the regular tour of the prison if you get a chance, too! And enjoy your cheesesteak!
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 08:11pm on 12/10/2011
Awesome, thank you! This will be my first trip to Philly, actually. I wish we could go for the whole day, but my friend has a football game. I'll be back :) (super excited about the rival cheesesteaks omg)

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31