the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 11:39pm on 15/05/2013
Oh.

Oh my god.

I do not have mixed feelings.

I have ALL THE FEELINGS.

I love...so much...about the things this movie chooses to be. Spoilers under the cut (and not just That One Everybody Knows).


--TRIBBLE SAVES THE DAAAAAAY. I knew it would, I knew it. Bless that little annoying cooing ball of fluff.

--Even so: the tears. My god, so many tears. Chris Pine did a beautiful job with that scene - with all the scenes, but that one especially. Quinto too. "Because you are my friend." Spoooooock no. And even though I'm seeing Kirk and Spock, I'm also feeling the Chris/Zach bromance and it just makes it HURT BETTER

--Speaking of BFFery, Kirk and Uhura in the turbolift are all I ever wanted from fic and from life. It was so "our boyfriend is weird." BUT ALSO, lest you think I'm neglecting my OTP, when she puts her hand on Jim's shoulder after Bones does not blow up the person-torpedo? Uhura totally ships it

--Speaking of shipping! While I love nothing more than Kirk/McCoy, I came out of this movie kind of like I came out of the first one: shipping everything and everybody. Kirk/Pike. Kirk/Spock. Kirk/Spock/Uhura. Kirk/Spock/McCoy. McCoy/Sulu ("Remind me never to piss you off"). Chekov/Scotty. Kirk/Scotty. Kirk/chair/Sulu, at the end there (EXCELSIOR). Oooh, oooh, Carol/Chapel!

--I loved Carol, I really did. I've never seen Alice Eve in anything, but I liked her. She was pretty badass for a scientist. I do wish she'd told Kirk to go ahead and stun her father, but ah well. I love that the scream was over something legit. I liked the subtle ship hints they dropped at the end. Especially because it's one of my strongest held beliefs that the Kirk-Marcus family thing, if it were to go down in the Reboot verse, would go completely differently for a Kirk who grew up without his father.

--I need to add Scotty's running noises to my own runs. Scotty was so awesome! And funny! And important! I'll be honest, as much as I like Simon Pegg, I had a hard time connecting emotionally to his Scotty before. Now I'm loving him as much as I love James Doohan as Scotty (and I love James Doohan A LOT).

--The crew was utilized so well! Everybody got at least one Crowning Moment of Awesome! Some people got a bunch! Scotty and Chekov had those ones where they came out of nowhere and I forgot they were around to save the day! It was amazing!

--Also? I bet Nichelle is gonna love that bit with Uhura and the Klingons. No Klingon-to-English dictionary TODAY, sir.

--Suprise Leonard Nimoy is surprising! SO glad I wasn't spoiled for that. The theater cheered, of course.

--The Cumberthing was good. I was not looking forward to his casting/the release of his fangirls/etc. but I always forget he's a very good actor whom I used to like before Sherlock happened. He does have a lovely voice. Even if his face looks like a number of terrifying things including but not limited to: A foot. A lizard. The sloth from "Ice Age." Voldemort when he's hanging out on the back of Quirrel's head.

--I don't want to talk about the casting choices re: Khan here. I just don't.

--Oh god, when Spock tries to go down with the ship alone and Sulu is like "Excuse me sir but FUCK THAT"? That is basically one of my favorite things, in anything. That team-family-thing, OH. Is this because I'm an only child?

--I had no idea where the plot was going, but I loved where it went. The way it almost subverted the Khan plotline, then twisted it while throwing in the traitor admiral a la Cartwright. Kirk on the other side of the glass...we will not speak of this. It was a beautiful terrible thing.

--But you know, Kirk knocked that whosawhatsits back into alignment by hanging off the thing. Basically he saved the ship by hanging off of shit. I'm pretty sure this puts Kirk past Ledges FOR LIFE.

--What else...I don't know what else. Oh!
--Spock's epic bitchface when Carol Marcus showed up

--Let's talk about Christopher Pike. If you didn't know Pike was going to bite it, I'm sorry, but WHAT. That's how it goes. Your folks die, your mentor dies, sucks to be a hero. I wasn't expecting him to go that early, and of course I cried. I did appreciate that there were no dramatic last words. Just the meld, and tears. We'll miss you, Captain Pike.

--The Kelvin Memorial Archives. Little details like that. Especially after we learned what it really was.

Okay, the adrenaline is starting to wear off. I feel...at peace. I waited four damn years for this movie and I am so, so glad it didn't suck. I need to see it again really soon.
There are 7 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 07:11am on 16/05/2013
Aww hell, this kind of made me like Benedict, actually. A more complex villain than Eric Bana's, I thought. Of course, I was so bummed about Pike that I needed to fix on something to enjoy, and scene-chewing done well just about does it.

And reversing the Spock-Kirk death scene from the original? Awesome.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (_kissmygrass - kirk and bones)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 12:02pm on 16/05/2013
Yes! Yes to everything.
 
posted by [identity profile] monkiedude.livejournal.com at 08:35am on 16/05/2013
YAY! I am so glad you enjoyed it. I did tooooo.

I admit I was nervous re: Pine's acting going in, after I saw the "because I ALLOW IT" clip which was a leeeeeetle OTT, but damn--that really did end up being the one acting choice of his that I wasn't 100% on board with. He did AMAZING the rest of the time. All of his scenes with Pike were complete perfection. And I loved his little "oh, okay" when he was with Uhura and Spock en route to Kronos and Uhura's like, "just TWO seconds, Captain."

And Scotty was totally surprise!MVP, both in the storyline but also the film--yay! I was sad at the relative lack of Kirk/McCoy interaction, but I wouldn't have traded the Kirk/Scotty and Kirk/Uhura scenes for anything, either.

Also, I know JJ is in everyone's doghouse at the moment, but he gets brownie points from me for making James T. Kirk a Beastie Boys fan. Is that going to be a running gag?
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (_x_gleema_x_ - baby kirk)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 12:06pm on 16/05/2013
Haha yeah, I can see that reaction, but it works for me in context. And I LOVED the Kirk/Spock/Uhura scene in the not-Falcon. "Hey, don't bring me into this! ...But she's right." I was hoping that dynamic would feature heavily from the trailers and it did not disappoint.

Re: Kirk/McCoy, I would've liked to see them more, but I have to tell myself that they were sort of the central relationship of the first movie while Kirk was working his shit out with Spock and Uhura was busy hating him.

Man, I don't even care about the JJ hate right now. He gave me a(nother) movie I love, he's probably going to give me Star Wars movies I love, I can't complain.
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (_x_gleema_x_ - captain blue eyes)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 09:28pm on 19/05/2013
I was thinking that they were going to go in a decidedly Carol/Jim direction from the previews, but aside from some mild flirting, they really didn't. I appreciated that they left it very open-ended.
 
posted by [identity profile] january-snow.livejournal.com at 03:12pm on 19/05/2013
thks for this tour of your thoughts :) pretty much sums up much of what i think.

including the adrenalin reference at the end!!
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (_kissmygrass - kirk and bones)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 09:28pm on 19/05/2013
YAY! :)

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31