posted by
the_dala at 07:29pm on 05/10/2013
"Pirates of the Caribbean" is on Starz, and I happen to be eating a green apple, so even though I own it on two separate DVDs I need to watch the last hour. I haven't watched it in...I don't know how long, actually.
I have very complicated piratical feelings even after all this time. Watching it makes me feel a little sad and a lot nostalgic. That was a good fandom for quite a long time, all things considered, and I miss it. It was my home. Whatever happened eventually, that was true; and whatever one thinks of the other movies (and let me express here how much I do not want to go into that), the first one is basically a perfect movie. Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, true love, miracles...zombies and powedered wigs and beautiful ships and rum.
I miss you, PotC fandom.
Perhaps it's time to start posting my PotC fic on AO3.
ETA: I found it. I found the wallpaper I had for like three years straight: http://www.rivkashome.com/mypics/potc/01_G?full=1
I have very complicated piratical feelings even after all this time. Watching it makes me feel a little sad and a lot nostalgic. That was a good fandom for quite a long time, all things considered, and I miss it. It was my home. Whatever happened eventually, that was true; and whatever one thinks of the other movies (and let me express here how much I do not want to go into that), the first one is basically a perfect movie. Fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, true love, miracles...zombies and powedered wigs and beautiful ships and rum.
I miss you, PotC fandom.
Perhaps it's time to start posting my PotC fic on AO3.
ETA: I found it. I found the wallpaper I had for like three years straight: http://www.rivkashome.com/mypics/potc/01_G?full=1
(no subject)
I also miss the POTC fandom. I was never active in it, but I did lurk a lot. It seemed to die pretty much overnight, which makes me sad. I guess it just became too spiltered and everyone went their seperate ways. :(
(no subject)
(no subject)
We'll always have the memories... *is sad that this is my only remaining Pirates icon*
(no subject)
And I would also reread your fic at ao3 - I remember it being really varied.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
Plus, the movie is just a delight.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
I would love to read all your old fic and relive the good old days.
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
(no subject)
<3
...or maybe it's just me seeing pirates everywhere these days. I sure miss 'em.