the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 10:32pm on 24/04/2004
Well. I believe I've had the best couple of days of my entire year here. Coming down from that is a bit depressing.

Anyway, yesterday, class blahblahblah. But that's not important, because the rest of the day rocked. Ness and I hung around and watched "Beauty and the Beast," then Alexis came by to snag us to sing happy birthday to Lauren. I ended up hanging out in Lauren and Alexis's room for about four hours (Ness left for awhile to go meet Anya somewhere, but they came back eventually) with Jeanne, Michelle, Sarah, and a friend of theirs who's on the crew team. It's been kind of weird having the six girls in the rooms surrounding us (plus Gwen, our RA, who lives between Alexis/Lauren and Anya/Jeanne) form this really tight, fun group that Vanessa and I are too shy or square to join in with (I'm mostly attributing the first characteristic to me and the second to her). I mean, these are the girls we're sharing a suite with next year, and they were nice enough to invite us because they needed two more people, and we say hi in the hallways and stuff, but this was the first time we've actually hung out. Michelle is a sweet doof and I never realized how damned funny Alexis is. We talked about childhood stupidity and played mind games/riddle thingys, which I was actually pretty good at. I forget how good it feels to just chill with a bunch of girls, to tease each and make dirty jokes and talk about boys. It's not the same with just Vanessa and me, and even if it wasn't just the two of us it's...still not quite the same. Argh. Not that I don't love my roomie, it's just...

(break; Karen has persuaded me to accompany her on a Wendy's run. Mmm Frosty.)

(back. Really, really don't want this Frosty anymore.)

...where was I? Ness. Yeah. We're friends, but it's not a warm type of friendship. And even though I was grateful to get a roomie who didn't get wasted every weekend, I fell at the complete opposite end of the spectrum instead. I can't help wondering what my year would have been like had I roomed with one of the other girls in the hall. I have to be around somebody outgoing to make any sort of attempt at it myself, and Vanessa is just not that person.

Anyway. The point is, I had a really great time hanging out on Friday and I might've been brave enough to invite myself along wherever they were going out later, but the "Rocky Horror" floorshow was at midnight. I went to that by myself because Vanessa wouldn't have gone in a million years (and I did ask, more than once), but I sat myself right down next to a guy from my Spanish class I had a crush on last semester. Cute, sweet dread-locked boy with giant brown puppy-dog eyes who wears lots of Bob Marley t-shirts and country cloth. And not only that, I actually talked to him. This is one small step for Dala, one giant leap for...Dala. And then as we were walking back to the dorms he casually mentioned his girlfriend, but oh well, I had my couple of hours of glee. The floor show was fun too; Karen looked fabulous as Magenta.

Today, Vanessa's friend Alison came to visit. We wandered around and they played cards while I took a well-deserved nap. Then we headed over to St. Mary's Hall to see Jeanne in the Moulin Rouge show, which was nothing short of awesome. It was a second dose of fishnets and bustiers, and it was great fun. Jeanne did Lil Kim's part in "Lady Marmalade," extremely funny, and DAMN I had no idea Marianna could sing like that. She was Christina, and she sounded as good as the original. The choreography of the show was great and it was hella fun. We stayed to watch the little ballet second act, which was...well. I don't hate ballet or anything, but after Moulin Rouge, I was kind of in the mood for some more booty-shakin'. My allergies were also acting like a bitch, so I left Vanessa with a couple of friends of hers to drag my sniffling ass to the campus center and spend way too much money on medication. Karen came by after I got back to drag me out to Lex Park and we exchanged stories (I shared the epic Drunken Night in the Fucking Woods with Tina's Van -- or, rather, parts of it. I left out some...more salacious details).

Ness is still out somewhere and I plan to sit around listening to the "Moulin Rouge" soundtracks and trying to whip the W/N fic into shape. It's just not working for some reason. The weird-ass supernatural fic, on the other hand, is smooth like buttah. It still has no name (the WP file is titled "WTF"), but I'm getting attached to my slayer. She's so much like "Wish"verse Buffy that I'm just picturing her as Sarah Michelle Gellar in that ep, except of course with period clothing and hair. Well, men's clothing. And her watcher, who is Giles-like but younger and less assertive (and also in love with his jaded slayer, poor man), is Paul Bettany in my mind. Mmmm. I still have no real visualization of the Pearl and her evil twin-thing, but that'll come along when it comes along.

Yarrr, I still have Will stuck in a trellis in the next part of "Fate." That must be taken care of post-hasty.

I would really like to have something to add to this key lime soda. Karen suggested tequila, as a key lime soda is kinda-sorta like a margarita, but I don't have any tequila. I don't have anything. Bleahhh.
Mood:: 'weird' weird
Music:: "meet me in the red room"
There are no comments on this entry. (Reply.)

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31