the_dala: made by iconzicons (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] the_dala at 12:53am on 10/09/2006
I've never seen anybody who can pull off as many looks as Keira Knightley. Mostly I'm thinking about her hair -- short, medium, long, straight, wavy, curly, choppy, bangs, extensions, brown, black, blond, multi-toned...I don't think she's ever gone red. Maybe that's the one thing she can't look maddeningly beautiful with.

In an unrelated tangent (but really, why start a whole new post?) one of the many arguments I had with my mother over the last twenty-four hours was yet another over body image. We were flipping through People magazine, looking at a photo of Beyonce, and I made a comment about how I was kind of bummed that she lost weight recently. I wouldn't call myself a huge Beyonce fan, but I always thought she was rather inspiring in her curviness and her attitude. Come on, "Bootylicious" rocks. My mother was all on me about 'why don't you like thin people?' and I had to explain, and I feel the need to explain further now. It isn't that I don't like thin people, it's that I hate and resent how that particular body image is the media ideal -- that unless they go out of their way, that is pretty much the only shape young girls see on TV, in movies and in magazines, and it's entirely unrepresentative of the actual population. I really do not understand how my mother, who is not thin now but who dieted for decades to a point at which she really, truly looked anorexic, doesn't see how harmful this unbalance is.

I mean, it's not even that she lost this weight she did not need to lose, or that she did it for a movie role (which, according to my mother, made it okay). I wouldn't have even noticed if every time I've seen or heard her mentioned in the past few months, the weight loss wasn't emphasized, as if the media are saying, 'Yeah, we pretended to like you when you were curvier, but we're so very impressed that you're now thin!' The most commonly repeated phrase is 'newly svelte.' That phrase makes my blood boil and I don't know precisely why. It just looks so smug. They used it on post-pregnancy celebrities, too.

Uh, I don't know where I was going with this. I just needed to get it off my chest. I have enough body image problems without Beyonce going and sweating off her booty. Story time: when I was in seventh grade, my American history class had a really great student teacher helping out, and one afternoon she deliberately separated the sexes. At the end of class she asked us to write journal entries about our observations. I wrote about how the girls, even the outspoken ones, clammed up and didn't answer questions, and how the boys acted extra obnoxious even for teenage boys. In particular, I was appalled when they laughed at photos of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Lucretia Mott, and called them various kinds of ugly. No comments about the physiques of male social figures at the turn of the century were made. I am still appalled by this.

One last thing. Somebody slap me for adoring "Sexy Back" ::braces self:: I admit I am predisposed to like anything with 'Get your ____ on" where blank is not 'freak,' but honestly.

Okay, I've edited this post about seven times now, I'm going to bed.
Mood:: 'quixotic' quixotic
There are 16 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 04:56am on 10/09/2006
Madonna's been doing this for more than 20 years ...
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (bunbury_ - elizabethtown)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 05:15am on 10/09/2006
*shrug* Much as I like Madonna, I don't consider her beautiful. And I will never be able to banish the teeth from the "Music" video from my mind :)
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 05:19am on 10/09/2006
For me, I base it on versatility, not conventional beauty. (Besides, Keira has a couple of facial features that just bug me for no particular reason other than I personally don't care for them.) Madonna can physically reinvent herself - and has done so regularly - without resorting to the same look twice in all the years she's been working.

Plus ... part of it is that I'm old and I have an affinity for other old folks. When Keira finishes cutting all her teeth, I'll pass judgment on her. :-P
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 05:26am on 10/09/2006
Yeah, well, how about the mixed signals Hollywood press itself is sending out? There's what you cite, but then there are all these articles about the "dangerously thin" like Kate Bosworth and Keira. So, what's it to be - rail-thin, or curvy? Or is every female celebrity supposed to hit that magical one-number weight in-between and stay there with no variation?

(For what it's worth, I say both Kate and Keira - and some other actresses - could put on a few pounds and it wouldn't harm them. They show so many prominent bones that it's really not healthy.)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 05:38am on 10/09/2006
Or is every female celebrity supposed to hit that magical one-number weight in-between and stay there with no variation?

I think they'd say yes. Please to remain size 2, but do not show us your bones.

People like Keira Knightley and, oh, say Kate Hudson, and a few other tiny girls I can't think of, who have always been very thin, even on the too-thin side of thin -- they don't bother me as much as the ones who've clearly lost weight, like Kate Bosworth and Lindsay Lohan and Nicole Richie (who, my god, looks as though she can't even stand up under her own power).
 
posted by [identity profile] veronica-rich.livejournal.com at 05:41am on 10/09/2006
Keira has always been thin - it's just the bone protrusion I've noticed of late. It just seemed like she used to have some curves, even slender ones, and it seems she doesn't have so much now. Or maybe it was just that her chest seemed concave in that gold dress; I don't really know.
 
posted by [identity profile] yoiebear.livejournal.com at 03:08pm on 10/09/2006
I think the gold dress had a lot to do with it. The cut was not flattering and appeared to be the dress where everyone noticed how tiny she is. But, I don't think she's lost weight.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 02:22am on 11/09/2006
The gold dress was incredibly unflattering, or the cameraguy was on the warpath, or something -- I think whenever I've seen her mentioned in those too-thin articles, it's been with shots of that dress. I do remember her being a little curvier when she was doing "King Arthur," but I think it was muscle more than anything.
(deleted comment)
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 02:22am on 11/09/2006
Have you now? ::brews you tea::
 
posted by [identity profile] redorchard13.livejournal.com at 02:53pm on 10/09/2006
i agree with you up down and sideways.
i've always been perplexed by the obsession with loosing weight, being from an ethnic background that considers big curvy women to be the ideal.

the way i see it, god gave women hips for a reason, and its rather magical what you can do with them. these skinny celebrities are not taking advantage of their full potential. :::hands them all some linguini:::


ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 02:23am on 11/09/2006
Heeeeee.

(Because, seriously? How good are Elizabeth's chances of dying in labor in that century with those hips?)
 
posted by (anonymous) at 03:15am on 11/09/2006
WORD.

 
posted by [identity profile] redorchard13.livejournal.com at 03:16am on 11/09/2006
...and again, but signed in this time:

WORD.
 
posted by [identity profile] yoiebear.livejournal.com at 03:10pm on 10/09/2006
I adore Keira, but my favorite "Hollywood" role model has been Kate Winslet. That woman has tried the skinny thing and has, for the past decade, said "fuck it; I want to eat." All of Hollywood needs to take that cue and be human again.

I am, admittedly, one of those "skinny" people. The most I have ever weighed was 115 and that was because I gained weight for my surgery. I hate the way Hollywood makes me feel fat when I'm not.
ext_15529: made by jazsekuhsjunk (Default)
posted by [identity profile] the-dala.livejournal.com at 02:24am on 11/09/2006
Man, I love Kate Winslet for so many reasons, and that is one of them. I just wish there was more than one Kate Winslet for every ten Keiras (much as I love her, too :)
 
posted by [identity profile] yoiebear.livejournal.com at 02:59am on 11/09/2006
I'm right there with you! Keira is great but Kate is who I would like to be.

January

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5 6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20 21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31